Aktiviteter

Crime and Place in the Making Webinars 2024

Welcome to ‘Crime and Place in the Making‘!This webinar series features esteemed speakers, comprising both young minds and experienced researchers, focusing on diverse topics about crime, communities, and place in spatial, network, and temporal contexts. The series is an international collaboration between the American Society of Criminology’s Division of Communities and Place (DCP) and the Network Safe Places at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden. The inaugural 2024 series will  run generally on Thursdays at 17:30 CET / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST and will be accessible via zoom.

This webinar is a join initiative between Safeplaces Network and ASC Division of Community and Places.

Join us!

 

kick-off / 15th of february 2024

Prof John R. Hipp

Professor of Criminology, Law and Society,
Urban Planning and Public Policy and Sociology

University of California

ett sammarbete mellan KTH Säkraplatser & ASC Division of community and places

The Spatial Scale of Crime: Consequences for Ecological Studies of Crime

Although ecological studies of the location of crime have increasingly utilized smaller and smaller geographic units to explore research questions, this ever-smaller trend has certain limitations.  Most notably, this trend encounters the challenge that people move about the landscape, posing a problem for a narrow geographic lens and has largely been ignored.  A second limitation of this ever-smaller trend is a narrowing of research questions that are asked, or even can be asked. This is an unnecessary narrowing of the research paradigm.